Guest Post : Managing Product Defects, via Exceptional Support

My sister wanted to buy a new refrigerator. I accompanied her to a local store as she wanted to get the feel for the design and physical dimensions before searching for the cheaper prices online. We approached a salesman in the store and detailed our requirements, he has started showing latest models and explained the cool new features of them. My sister wanted to show her patriotism by buying an Indian brand, she turned down the salesman whenever he tried to hard sell the south korean brands. She liked a fridge made by Godrej, which had a big flower on it’s door. I checked it’s power consumption and it had a label with 5 star rating from Bureau of Energy Efficiency, so our search ended there.

Before buying it, I took out my smart phone and checked it’s prices online. Surprisingly, this store was offering better prices than online shops. We bought it. The salesperson told me that they can deliver it in 3 hours and he will send a serviceman tomorrow to install it. I was bit surprised, what is there in a fridge to install? Aren’t the fridges plug&play devices (even before computers had USBs)? I have politely asked him to just deliver it and convinced him that I can do the installation all by myself.

Fridge got delivered, we have unpacked it. For such a huge size it wasn’t that heavy. Plugged it to the power supply and it has started making that noise every fridge makes while powered on. My sister started loading it with everything she could possibly put into it and still found some space left inside. I was too lazy to go through the manual for recommended settings for right temperature, just wanted to turn the knob to the middle of it’s range. As I tried, I could not turn the knob. It was stuck, by seeing me trying my sister begged me not to break it. Decided to get some professional help after slamming Godrej for this poor quality finish. I didn’t want to call the store as I declined to accept their installation (well, I’m an egoist), I called Godrej’s toll-free service number which I found in their manual. I have explained the problem to a friendly lady on telephone and she promised to send a serviceperson as soon as possible. After the call, all those bad experiences, from the past, with calling the customer support and the service request getting last in nirvana flashed in mind. I’ve started to become anxious.

But, Godrej sent an SMS within minutes after my call with customer care. The SMS had a service person’s name, phone number and a 4 digit code to be given to the serviceperson after he does his job to my satisfaction. This one SMS gave me a lot of assurance that my service request is not lost. Now, I have a hold of a service person with that 4 digit code and real phone number (without extensions). The bad experiences of the past have just lacked this sense of assurance the SMS has provided. My anxiety has been wiped out.

Little later, the serviceperson called and offered to come by next morning. Next morning, the service person came and replaced the knob in minutes and I have given him the code, he left happily. All went well. This has been such a good experience, we have forgotten that Godrej delivered a brand new fridge with broken knob in first place. Big kudos to that person who has really thought through this process to delight his customer.

Yeasix

For the people who haven’t met me, I prefer to go with the name yeasix (supposed to mean ASICs) as my twitter handle. I’m an Electrical Engineer who loves to force the semiconductor elements to get the job done, a.k.a ASIC/chip design. Freshly backed Returned-Indian after spending 12 years in Germany for studies and work. New to Bangalore and it didn’t fail to amaze me

Leave a Reply

